Diese Anleitung ist noch nicht in deiner Sprache verfügbar und wird daher auf Englisch angezeigt.

ASUS ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING (WI-FI) Upgrade Guide

Aktualisiert am 30. Oktober 2026 · Erstellt anhand der verifizierten Spezifikationen dieses Geräts

The ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING (WI-FI) is a full-size ATX AM4 board, so upgrading means fitting new memory modules, drives or a processor into the sockets it already has. This guide covers what fits, the limits and the things worth checking before you buy. Note there are closely related models (the non-Wi-Fi B550-F is spec-identical minus the wireless module, and a later Wi-Fi II revision differs in details), so check the exact name printed on your board or box before ordering parts.

Auf einen Blick

  • 4 x DDR4 DIMM slots, up to 32 GB per module and 128 GB total
  • 2 x M.2 slots (2242 to 22110, NVMe or SATA) plus 6 x SATA 6 Gb/s ports
  • AM4 socket for Ryzen 3000, Ryzen 4000 G-Series and Ryzen 5000 processors
  • Practical CPU limit is around 105 W TDP; BIOS version matters for Ryzen 5000
  • The second M.2 slot switches off two of the six SATA ports
4× DDR4 DIMM (Dual-Channel, ungepuffert)4 × DDR4 DIMM · bis zu 128 GB gesamt · 5100 MT/s
2× M.2 Key M (2242–22110) + 6× SATA 6 Gb/s8 × SSD / HDD M.2 2242 / M.2 2260 / M.2 2280 / M.2 22110 (NVMe / SATA)
AMD AM4-Sockel (wechselbare PGA-CPU)AM4 · Ryzen 3000, Ryzen 5000, Ryzen 5000, Ryzen 3000
CPU · AM44 × DIMM · DDR4bis zu 128 GB gesamt2× M.2 Key M (2242–22110) + 6×SATA 6 Gb/s8 × SSD / HDD M.2 2242 / M.2 2260 /M.2 2280 / M.2 22110 (NVMe / SATA)
Schema der aufrüstbaren Steckplätze (nicht maßstabsgetreu). Die genauen Positionen findest du im Benutzerhandbuch.

Lebenszyklus und Support

Ein aktuelles Modell: wird neu verkauft und unterstützt.

20202021202220232024202520262027Heute11 · Verfügbarkeit · 16. Juni 2020
Ausgefüllte Punkte: vom Hersteller veröffentlichte Daten. Leere Punkte: Schätzungen von Drittanbietern.
MeilensteinDatum
Verfügbarkeit
Erstmals verfügbar zum Kauf.
16. Juni 2020 Schätzung ASUS/PRNewswire: first availability 2020-06-16 in North America, $209.99 USD (Wi-Fi SKU).
Quelle ↗

Nicht aufgeführte Daten wurden vom Hersteller oder einem zuverlässigen Drittanbieter nicht veröffentlicht.

Memory (RAM)

What fits. The board has four full-size DDR4 DIMM slots, arranged as two dual-channel pairs. All memory is socketed - nothing is soldered down. The largest supported module is 32 GB, giving a maximum of 128 GB with all four slots filled (4 x 32 GB). Memory must be unbuffered; registered (RDIMM) server memory is not supported.

Limits. ASUS's pages disagree on the top rated speed: the regional spec pages list 4400 (O.C.) MHz, the UK store page lists 4600 (O.C.) for 3rd Gen Ryzen and 5100 (O.C.) for later parts, and ASUS's B550 specification sheet lists 5100 (O.C.). These are overclocked peaks from the qualified vendor list (QVL) with one or two modules, and they depend on your CPU's memory controller and BIOS. With all four slots populated, expect to fall back to roughly 3200-3600 MHz. The practical rating for the RAM you buy should follow the QVL for your exact board and CPU.

ECC is a maybe: unbuffered ECC modules work only in ECC mode and only with a CPU whose memory controller supports it (this varies by processor), so ordinary non-ECC memory is always the safe choice.

Buying tips. Buy memory in matched pairs or a single kit so you get dual-channel operation, and avoid mixing kits or speeds - both are known trouble spots on this platform. Match the module type to DDR4 DIMM (not laptop SO-DIMM), and check the ASUS memory QVL for your board revision and BIOS before ordering.

Kauftipps

  • Choose a matched kit (2 or 4 identical modules) rather than mixing sticks
  • Cap your expectations at ~3200-3600 MHz if you fill all four slots
  • Non-ECC unbuffered DDR4 is the safe choice; skip registered memory
  • Verify the QVL entry for your exact model name and BIOS version

Storage (SSD and hard drive)

What fits. There are two M.2 Key M slots and six SATA 6 Gb/s ports. Both M.2 slots accept the 2242, 2260, 2280 and 22110 lengths - including the longer 110 mm drives - and take either NVMe or SATA M.2 drives.

Limits and behaviour. M.2_1 is attached to the CPU and can run at PCIe 4.0, but only with 3000- or 5000-series desktop processors; with 4000G/5000G APUs it drops to PCIe 3.0, halving NVMe bandwidth. M.2_2 is fed by the B550 chipset at PCIe 3.0. The main trade-off: installing a drive in M.2_2 switches off SATA ports 5 and 6, leaving four usable SATA ports. SATA RAID 0, 1 and 10 are supported on the board. ASUS does not publish a maximum total storage capacity - that is down to the drives you fit. The board has no drive bays of its own; 2.5-inch and 3.5-inch drives mount in your case's caddies.

Buying tips. If you want the fastest NVMe drive, put it in M.2_1 and use a 3000/5000-series desktop CPU to get PCIe 4.0. If you use both M.2 slots, plan for the loss of two SATA ports first. Any mainstream M.2 2280 NVMe drive fits; the 22110 support is a bonus if you find a deal on longer drives.

Kauftipps

  • Put your primary NVMe drive in M.2_1 with a 3000/5000-series desktop CPU for PCIe 4.0
  • Count your SATA devices before filling M.2_2 - you lose two SATA ports
  • 2280 is the common length; 2242/2260/22110 also fit both slots

Processor (CPU)

What fits. The socket is AMD AM4 with a replaceable PGA processor. ASUS lists support for Ryzen 3000 (3rd Gen), Ryzen 4000 G-Series and Ryzen 5000 processors - check the ASUS CPU support list for the exact chip you have in mind and for your board's revision.

Limits. ASUS does not state a maximum CPU TDP in its documentation. The board uses a 12+2 teamed DrMOS power design and its QVL covers 105 W parts (such as the Ryzen 9 3900X/3950X/5900X/5950X), so roughly 105 W TDP is the practical ceiling - in line with the AM4 socket. Ryzen 4000G and 5000G APUs work, but they pull the primary x16 graphics slot and M.2_1 down to PCIe 3.0.

Watch out for BIOS support: boards from earlier stock may need a BIOS update before a Ryzen 5000 chip will boot. Depending on the board, that means using the BIOS FlashBack feature or booting temporarily with a supported 3000-series processor - verify against ASUS's CPU QVL and your board's revision before buying.

Buying tips. Choose within the officially listed families (Ryzen 3000, 4000 G-Series, 5000), confirm the specific model on ASUS's CPU QVL, and ask the seller (or check the box) which BIOS version the board ships with if you are buying the board and CPU together.

Kauftipps

  • Confirm the exact CPU on ASUS's CPU support list for this board
  • Budget around 105 W TDP as the practical maximum
  • Sort out the BIOS version before the CPU arrives if it is a Ryzen 5000 part
  • Be aware APUs cap the main x16 slot and M.2_1 at PCIe 3.0

Aktuell am günstigsten kompatibel

Alle kompatiblen Teile und Preise ansehen →

So rüstest du auf

Bevor du startest

  • Back up anything important before you touch the hardware.
  • Shut down, switch off the power supply and unplug the mains cable.
  • Ground yourself (touch the case or use an anti-static strap) before handling components.
  • Open the case and install the new part.
  • Close the case, reconnect power and boot.
  • Check in the BIOS/UEFI (and in the operating system) that the new part is detected and running at the expected settings.

Schritte

  1. General installation outline
    Back up your data first. Then power the machine down, switch off the power supply and unplug the mains cable. Ground yourself to discharge static, open the case and fit the new component. Close up, reconnect everything and power on. Finally, enter the BIOS to confirm the new part is recognised and configured as expected.
  2. RAM specifics
    Install modules in matched pairs to get dual-channel operation, and fill the slots in the pairing order shown in the owner's manual. Avoid mixing kits or speeds. Exact slot order and any release latches are covered in the manual - use it for the fine detail.
  3. Storage specifics
    Both M.2 slots take 2242 through 22110 drives (NVMe or SATA), so check which length your drive is. Remember that a drive in M.2_2 disables SATA ports 5 and 6. For mounting hardware and the exact M.2 fitting procedure, follow the owner's manual.
  4. CPU specifics
    If you are installing a Ryzen 5000 processor into a board with older firmware, update the BIOS first - either with BIOS FlashBack or by booting temporarily with a supported 3000-series CPU. Check the ASUS CPU support list beforehand so you know which BIOS version your chip needs, and use the owner's manual for the physical installation.

Gut zu wissen

  • Rated memory speeds differ between ASUS's own pages (4400 to 5100 MHz depending on page, BIOS and CPU); treat them as overclocked QVL peaks, not guaranteed speeds.
  • ASUS does not state a maximum CPU TDP; around 105 W is the practical limit based on the power design and the processors on the support list.
  • Check the exact model name - the B550-F Gaming (Wi-Fi), the non-Wi-Fi B550-F and the later Wi-Fi II revision are similar but not identical.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

How much RAM can the ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING (WI-FI) take?

Up to 128 GB total - 4 x 32 GB DDR4 DIMMs, one per slot. Modules must be unbuffered; registered memory is not supported.

Does it support ECC memory?

Conditionally. Unbuffered ECC works only in ECC mode and only with a CPU whose memory controller supports it, and that varies by processor model. Non-ECC memory is always safe.

Does it support PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs?

Yes, in the M.2_1 slot - but only with Ryzen 3000 or 5000-series desktop CPUs. With 4000G/5000G APUs the slot runs at PCIe 3.0 instead.

Will a Ryzen 5000 CPU work without a BIOS update?

Not necessarily. Boards from earlier stock may need a BIOS update first, using BIOS FlashBack or a bootable 3000-series processor. Check the ASUS CPU support list and your board's BIOS version.

How many SSDs and hard drives can I connect?

Two M.2 drives (NVMe or SATA, lengths 2242 to 22110) plus six SATA 6 Gb/s devices - though a drive in the second M.2 slot turns off two SATA ports, leaving four. SATA RAID 0/1/10 is supported.

What RAM speed will I actually get?

It depends on the CPU and BIOS. The advertised 4400-5100 MHz figures are overclocked QVL peaks with one or two modules, and ASUS's own pages give different numbers. With four modules, expect around 3200-3600 MHz.

Offizielle Dokumente und Referenzen